AT LAST 2014

AT LAST cover

AT LAST - Blues, Jazzy Blues, Blues-Rock album (Release Date: 02.02.2014)


Ike Moriz takes the Blues to South Africa & brings it back to the world with a fresh new face! Since releasing his latest album in 2012, South Africa's international singing sensation Ike Moriz has written exciting new material in the blues rock genre for his 14th studio album to date - the title: 'AT LAST'. Moriz has taken the blues 'To Cape Town' - his home of choice (and the title of one of his new songs) at the southernmost tip of Africa where he rounded up some of the best musical talent the country has to offer to create his version of classic blues. Inspired by his recent marriage, the birth of his daughter and his tour through Southern Europe & Northern Africa, he has crafted an array of songs reflecting these experiences of the past 2 years.

The album opens with a song that already sounds like it could be a classic blues standard: 'The Devil Is Real In Your Mind'. Minimalist, clear & strong lyrics with a highly dynamic arrangement to get Ike's message across. The song is followed by the aforementioned 'To Cape Town', an upbeat blues folk/rock song about arriving in Ike's hometown - one of the most beautiful cities in the world. If you are looking for Ike's typical tongue-in-cheek stories, then look out for 'Think I'm A Millionaire', 'Disillusion Blues' and 'Until Their Lights Are Out (Alien Blues)'. 

Besides his original songs we can also find a couple of covers in fresh new arrangements like Horace Silver's classic jazzy 'Señor Blues' with slightly altered lyrics to fit ike's message, as well as Gershwin's Porgy & Bess rebel 'It Ain't Necessarily So'. Moriz also breathes new life into the 1952 Elvis hit 'Hound Dog' and Hoagy Carmichael's standard 'Georgia On My Mind' with the incredibly gifted navy big band leader Willie van Zyl on saxophone and clarinet. The CD ends on a high note with a song that most parents have sung to their children: 'You Are My Sunshine' by Oliver Hood.

The general theme of the album can be summarised with the words 'At Last'. Have a listen to find out why!

Track list:

• 1 The Devil Is Real In Your Mind

• 2 To Cape Town

• 3 Smooth And Nice

• 4 At Last*

• 5 Forevermore

• 6 Senorita Blues*

• 7 This Could Be Love

• 8 It Ain't Necessarily So*

• 9 Think I'm A Millionaire

• 10 Until Their Lights Are Out (Alien Blues)

• 11 Hound Dog*

• 12 Disillusion Blues

• 13 Georgia On My Mind*

• 14 These Eyes Are Not Yours

• 15 You Are My Sunshine*

©(p)2014 Eike Moriz. Mosquito Records London;

All songs written & produced by Ike (Eike) Moriz, except *track 4 by Mack Gordon & Harry Warren (Warner Brothers Music Corp), *track 6 by Horace Silver & lyrical changes by Ike Moriz (Ecaroh Music Inc), *track 8 George Gershwin & Ira Gershwin (Warner Brothers Music Corp), *track 11 by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller (Peacock Records), *track 13 by Hoagy Carmichael & Stuart Gorell (Universal Music) and *track 15 by Oliver Hood.

All design work: (Lars Pestrup) 10/2013

Cover photograph: A Photographic Affair, Cape Town ©(p)Eike Moriz 2013


Ike Moriz: Vocals, backing vocals, additonal piano & keyboards, production, arrangements, additional bass & acoustic guitar

Willem Moller: Lead guitar

Willie van Zyl: Saxophones, clarinet

Gregory John Schoeman: Additional guitar, acoustic guitar (2, 7 &14)

Simon Orange: Piano, hammond

A. McPike: Keyboards on songs marked with *

Tonia Moller: Additional backing vocals (1, 3 & 7)

Roger Bashew: Bass

Paul Tizzard: Drums

Distribution:  Jassics in SA

Publishing: Ike Moriz (Mosquito Records London)

Sub – Publishing: Sheer Publishing in SA

For further information and/or interviews with Ike Moriz, please contact

Mosquito Records London /