SUNDAY - Swing / Jazz / Crooners album 

(Release date: 03.04.2011)


Ike Moriz’s unstoppable recording efforts culminate in this brand-new feast of classic Jazz/Swing standards: A selection of musical gems that were made immortal by singers like Ella Fitzgerald, Nat King Cole, Bobby Darin, Frank Sinatra & Tony Bennett. However, Ike has given these songs his own appealing fingerprint that makes them even more timeless & exquisite. 

Ike Moriz’s 11th studio album is considerably more upbeat than the previous release just a few months ago, taking off with uptempo versions of the feel-good “How High The Moon”, the mysterious “Caravan” & the evergreen “Sunday”, followed by a slightly more chilled “I Wish You Love”. Elvis Presley’s famous “Can’t Help Falling In Love” has been given a beautiful piano & voice treatment that really gives both the pianist and Ike’s voice the space to allure & shine. If this 16 track CD was a vinyl record, this song would mark the end of side A: Time for a tea break... 

We continue back with an all time ‘uber-hit’, namely Nat Cole’s “Love” (or L-O-V-E) followed by the bewitching latin Jobim jewel “Meditation” - both tracks gracefully accompanied by Navy Big Band leader and brass virtuoso Willie van Zyl on saxophone and clarinet. 

Continuing in the typical ‘tongue in cheek’ - jovial swing era style Ike guides us through classic hits like “I’m Beginning To See The LIght”, “Just In Time” and the magnificent “I Left My Heart In San Francisco” (which he often changes to ‘in Hout Bay’ at live concerts). We finally arrive at the conclusion with the incredible treasure that is Paul Simon’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water” - again given an elegant 'voice & piano only' arrangement - keeping the best for last. 

All in all a beguiling collection of timeless musical charm & beauty you cannot afford to miss!!! 

Track List:

1. How High The Moon 

2. Caravan

3. Sunday 

4. I Wish You Love

5. Satin Doll 

6. What Is This Thing Called Love?  

7. There Will Never Be Another You (2011) 

8. Can't Help Falling In Love 

9. Love

10. Meditation 

11. I'm Beginning To See The Light 

12. Just In Time 

13. You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me 

14. I Left My Heart In San Francisco

15. Sunday in New York 

16. Bridge Over Troubled Water (bonus track)

Musicians: Ike Moriz, Willie Van Zyl, Morne Van Der Merwe, A. McPike

Cover artwork:

Cover photograph: Michael Waites (at Pure Restaurant, Hout Bay Manor, Hout Bay, South Africa)

Distribution:  Jassics in SA

Publishing: Ike Moriz (Mosquito Records London)

Sub – Publishing: Sheer Publishing in SA

For further information and/or interviews with Ike Moriz, please contact

Mosquito Records London /